Skip to main content

You are currently in: Disclosure and barring checks

Check levels

23 April 2013

Different information is used by the DBS to inform the decisions that it makes regarding the suitability of an individual to work with children or vulnerable groups.
Depending on the type of check requested, different information is accessed. 

Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) Disclosure Levels

Since the introduction of new Regulated Activity on 10 September 2012 there are three types of check that are available through the Disclosure and Barring Service.


A Standard check is available for certain specified occupations, licences and entry into certain specified professions. A Standard check only checks the information held on the Police National Computer (PNC).

Enhanced PLUS barring lists checked

The Enhanced check is the highest level of criminal record check and is available for those working in Regulated Activity with children or vulnerable adults.
An Enhanced check includes information held on the Police National Computer, plus Police information held and will also check the DBS barring lists (Adults/Children/List 99) as appropriate.

Enhanced (with no barring lists checked)

Since 10 September 2012 the scope of Regulated Activity has changed, so job roles which once were eligible for a full Enhanced check may no longer be eligible. However, everybody within the pre-September definition of regulated activity, whether or not they fall within the post-September definition of regulated activity, will remain eligible for Enhanced level checks, but they will no longer be eligible for having the barring list checked.


DBS has therefore introduced a new Enhanced check which includes information held on the PNC, plus Police information but will not check the DBS barring lists (Adults/Children/List 99).