Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

You are currently in: Admissions

Districts and counties that border Essex

1 August 2018

Primary and secondary schools

You are an Essex County Council area resident if your council tax is payable to one of the following district councils: Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping Forest, Harlow, Maldon, Rochford, Tendring or Uttlesford.
If you live in Essex you must apply to Essex County Council for your preferred schools, even if some, or all, of your chosen schools are outside of Essex. 
If you do not live in Essex, for the secondary or primary admission rounds, you must apply through the authority to whom your council tax is payable. For mid-year transfers, see the applying mid-year for a school place page.
Please note that Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock are not administered by Essex County Council.
These websites give information about secondary schools in neighbouring authorities.