Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

You are currently in: Voluntary sector funding


The Essex Compact

14 June 2017

A Compact is a voluntary agreement which aims to underpin and support better joint working between statutory agencies, such as local councils, and the voluntary and community sector in working together fairly and productively to improve the well-being of people living and working in Essex. It sets out principles and standards for a good, open, fair relationship between statutory and voluntary agencies.   In Essex there is Compact working on a national, county and in many cases district compacts basis.

In writing the current Essex Compact we paid close attention to the District and Borough Compacts which were up and running in nearly all Essex Districts and Boroughs and to the National Compact. We see District Compacts as guiding district-level activity, the Essex Compact as guiding county-wide or at least wider than individual district work, and the National Compact as applying to national processes. This is not a hierarchy and the smallest Compact carries as much authority as the biggest.

“The Essex Compact was originally produced in 2004, but was extensively rewritten and extended in 2007-8, involving many voluntary and statutory organisations and a public consultation that ended in late January 2008, this new version was adopted in April 2008.”

“Further reviews have taken place and the most recent updated Compact was agreed and adopted in 2013. The Steering Group and Compact Stakeholders continue to ensure that the Essex Compact is relevant and up to date. The new Commissioning Code of Practice has been developed in partnership across the voluntary and community sector and public sector and was adopted at the Essex Compact AGM in 2016. A further review of the Compact has taken place in early 2017, and a Mediation Procedure has been added. All the Compact Codes will be reviewed over the next 2 years”

The Essex Compact and its associated documents are available below:



For further information, including how your organisation can sign-up to the Essex Compact please contact us by e-mail at
For further information about Compact more generally please visit the Compact Voice website


Essex Compact Steering Group 2016


Canon John Brown – Independent Chair     
Adrian Coggins – Essex County Council
Anna Hook – Essex County Council
Andrea Macalister – Essex Fire and Rescue Service
Greg Myddelton – Office of the Police & Crime Commissioner for Essex
Chris Rust – Maldon District Council
Anthony West – North East Essex CCG
Sharon Alexander – Essex association of Councils for Voluntary Service
David Pickles – Citizens Advice Bureau
Suzanne Harris – Rural Community Council of Essex
Rachel Brett  – Essex Council for Voluntary Youth Services
Tom Nutt – Healthwatch Essex
Linda Riley – Voluntary Sector Training
Alison Semmence – Southend Association of Voluntary Services Vacancy