Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

You are currently in: Delivering education in Essex

Types of schools

5 November 2012

Details of community schools, foundation and trust schools, voluntary aided and voluntary controlled schools, specialist schools, academies and independent schools are all provided by GOV.UK. They also provide advice on choosing a school and finding a school to suit your child.

In Essex, primary education is provided at either infant (4-7) and junior (7-11) schools or primary schools (4-11). Children who go to an infant school, transfer to a junior or primary school at the end of Year 2.