Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

You are currently in: News and Events

Changes in Cabinet portfolio holders announced

14 May 2019

A change to portfolio holders in Essex County Council's Cabinet was announced at a full meeting of the Council today.

Cllr David Finch, Leader of Essex County Council, said the changes to his cabinet would utilise and enhance the strengths of his existing team, while bringing the respected talent of Cllr Tony Ball into the Cabinet.

The full list of moves within the Cabinet is:

Cllr Louise McKinlay will now be Cabinet Member for Children and Families

Cllr Dick Madden, formerly Cabinet Member for Children and Families, is now Cabinet Member for Performance, Business Planning and Partnerships

Cllr Gagan Mohindra will now be Cabinet Member for Finance, Commercial and Traded Services, the post formerly held by Cllr McKinlay

Cllr Susan Barker will now have an expanded role of Customer, Communities, Culture and Corporate

Cllr Tony Ball is stepping up from a deputy role to become Cabinet Member for Economic Development, the post formerly held by Cllr Mohindra

Announcing the reshuffle Council leader David Finch said: “The team I have selected will bring knowledge and experience to continue the hard work and good results of the Council.

“Our Chief Executive, Gavin Jones, has developed an efficient and effective organisation, and I am proud to introduce the new-look Cabinet to meet the challenges ahead."

“I reiterate the message I expressed when I first formed this cabinet: We will not relax in our quest to deliver lean, efficient and effective public services."

The current structure of Essex County Council Cabinet is:

Leader of the Council
Cllr David Finch

Deputy Leader of the Council & Cabinet Member for Infrastructure
Cllr Kevin Bentley

Health & Adult Social Care
Cllr John Spence

Cllr Ray Gooding

Children & Families
Cllr Louise McKinlay

Performance, Business Planning and Partnerships
Cllr Dick Madden

Finance, Property and Housing
Cllr Gagan Mohindra

Customer, Communities, Culture and Corporate.
Cllr Sue Barker

Environment & Waste
Cllr Simon Walsh

Economic Development
Cllr Tony Ball