Coronavirus (COVID-19): National restrictions in England

National coronavirus (COVID-19) restrictions are in place for the whole of England.

The government has put Essex in High alert (tier 2) from 2nd December.

For information, advice and support, visit the coronavirus hub.

To see how restrictions will affect services, visit changes to our services.

The Brexit process

A revised Withdrawal Agreement and Political Declaration was agreed with the European Council on 17 October 2019.

Separate citizens' rights agreements have also been agreed between the UK and Switzerland and the UK and the EEA EFTA states.

The UK left the European Union on 31 January 2020. There is now a Transition Period which will last until 31 December 2020. DUring this Transition Period, the UK will continue to apply EU law and existing UK and EU arrangements, with a limited number of exceptions.

Keeping up to date

Visit GOV.UK for current guidance and to sign up for email updates.

The House of Commons library publishes briefings on a wide range of Brexit related topics.

Preparing for changes

Across Essex, local authorities and public services have worked together and planned for leaving the EU. Under the Withdrawal Agreement there are very limited changes during the Transition Period. The UK and EU will negotiate new arrangements during the Transition Period, and we will identify and plan to implement the changes needed.

Local resilience forums (LRFs) are multi-agency partnerships, made up of representatives from local public services, including the emergency services, local authorities, the NHS, the Environment Agency and others. The Essex Resilience Forum (ERF) will plan to mitigate any disruption to our county at the end of the Transition Period.

Print this page