Local COVID alert level: high (tier 2)

Essex is on the high alert level (tier 2), this does not include Southend and Thurrock who are on the medium alert level (tier 1).

Check the latest guidance on what this means to keep yourself and others safe.

For information, advice and support, visit the coronavirus hub.

County council and local councils

What we do and what we don't

If you live in Essex you’re likely to have services provided by, us, the county council as well as a local council, known as a district, borough or city council.

This means you’re represented by a mixture of county councillors and local councillors.

What we do

We provide county-wide services like:

  • schools
  • roads
  • children's social care
  • adult social care

What we don't do

Local services like:

  • bins
  • housing
  • local planning
  • collecting council tax

These are provided by one of the 12 district, borough or city councils in Essex:

You can find out which district council area you live in using the find my council tool.

Print this page