Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: Schools and learning

Schools and colleges are open full time.

Your child’s school or college will update you on their plans this autumn term. See staying well: children and families for more information and support available from local organisations.

Find out what to do if your child or someone in their class develops coronavirus symptoms.

School terms and holidays

Academic year 2020 to 2021

These dates are for community and voluntary controlled schools in Essex.

Term dates for foundation and voluntary-aided schools and academies may be different. Check with your child's school for their term dates.

Term Starts Ends
Autumn, term 1 Wednesday 2 September 2020 Friday 23 October 2020
Autumn half term Monday 26 October 2020 Friday 30 October 2020
Autumn, term 2 Monday 2 November 2020 Friday 18 December 2020
Winter holiday (Christmas) Monday 21 December 2020 Friday 1 January 2021
Spring, term 3 Monday 4 January 2021 Friday 12 February 2021
Spring half term Monday 15 February 2021 Friday 19 February 2021
Spring, term 4 Monday 22 February 2021 Friday 26 March 2021
Spring holiday (Easter) Monday 29 March 2021 Friday 9 April 2021
Summer, term 5 Monday 12 April 2021 Friday 28 May 2021
May Day Bank Holiday Monday 3 May 2021 Monday 3 May 2021
Summer half term Monday 31 May 2021 Friday 4 June 2021
Summer, term 6 Monday 7 June 2021 Wednesday 21 July 2021
Summer holiday Thursday 22 July 2021 Tuesday 31 August 2021

There are 195 school days in a year.

Schools also have 5 days out of the academic year for staff training. Contact your child’s school to find out when they will be.

View the full 2020 to 2021 term date calendar (PDF, 198KB)

You can find UK bank holidays dates on GOV.UK.

Print this page