School terms and holidays

Academic year 2022 to 2023

These dates are for community and voluntary controlled schools in Essex.

Term dates for foundation and voluntary-aided schools and academies may be different. Check with your child's school for their term dates.

Term Starts Ends
Autumn, term 1 Thursday 1 September 2022 Friday 21 October 2022
Autumn half term Monday 24 October 2022 Friday 28 October 2022
Autumn, term 2 Monday 31 October 2022 Tuesday 20 December 2022
Winter holiday (Christmas) Wednesday 21 December 2022 Wednesday 4 January 2023
Spring, term 3 Thursday 5 January 2023 Friday 10 February 2023
Spring half term Monday 13 February 2023 Friday 17 February 2023
Spring, term 4 Monday 20 February 2023 Friday 31 March 2023
Spring holiday (Easter) Monday 3 April 2023 Friday 14 April 2023
Summer, term 5 Monday 17 April 2023 Friday 26 May 2023
May Day Bank Holiday Monday 1 May 2023 Monday 1 May 2023
Summer half term Monday 29 May 2023 Friday 2 June 2023
Summer, term 6 Monday 5 June 2023 Friday 21 July 2023
Summer holiday Monday 24 July 2023 Thursday 31 August 2023

There are 195 school days in a year.

Schools also have 5 days out of the academic year for staff training. Contact your child’s school to find out when they will be.

View the full 2022 to 2023 term date calendar (PDF, 219.54KB).

You can find UK bank holidays dates on GOV.UK.

Print this page