This is our new website design - it's a work in progress. Tell us what you think

Blue Badge


A Blue Badge helps those with physical disabilities to be able to park closer to their destination.

Check if you are eligible for a Blue Badge before you apply.

Automatically eligible

You’re automatically eligible for a Blue Badge if you:

  • are registered severely sight impaired
  • get the higher rate of the mobility component of Disability Living Allowance
  • get Personal Independence Payment Mobility Component and your 'moving around” score is 8 or more
  • get War Pensioners Mobility Supplement
  • have received a lump sum benefit from the Armed Forces and Reserve Forces Compensation Scheme (tariffs 1-8) and have certification of having a permanent and substantial disability which causes inability to walk or very considerable difficulty walking

If you're not automatically eligible

You may still be eligible for a Blue Badge if you:

  • are unable to walk, or have considerable difficulty in walking
  • have a severe disability in both arms and are unable to operate all or some types of parking meters
  • have a child under 3 years of age who has a medical condition and needs to be near a vehicle at all times. This is so that they can be treated in the vehicle or quickly driven to receive treatment or need to travel with bulky medical equipment
  • are terminally ill with a progressive disease and are not expected to live for more than 12 months

Blue Badge: people with hidden disabilities

From 30 August 2019, people with hidden disabilities including autism and mental health conditions, will be able to apply for a Blue Badge.

There won’t be any changes in the application process until this date. If you would like to apply under the new hidden disabilities criteria, you will need to wait until 30 August 2019.

We can’t hold applications until the new guidelines come in. Any applications received before this date will be assessed under the current process.

We will update this page with more information before the new regulations are applied. You can also visit GOV.UK to find out more.

Print this page